Subject Guides: *Tourism &amp; Hospitality: Home

Ask A Librarian

Travel News

Finding Books

In order to find books held in the University of Maine System libraries you should begin with LibrarySearch, the online catalog.

If the material you need is not available at the USM Libraries, you should next search MaineCat and Request the material. If the book is not available through LibrarySearch or MaineCat, then you should create a free Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) account. See links below.

LibrarySearch (Library Catalog)
Catalog for the University of Maine system, including USM. You can choose to limit your search to USM, or search all libraries. You can also search for journal articles here too.
MaineCat
If LibrarySearch doesn't have what you need, try MaineCat, the Catalog for Colby, Bates, and Bowdoin plus many public libraries in Maine. USM students may Request delivery to USM campus libraries.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records for more than 36 million items held at OCLC member libraries throughout the world. Includes all types of information resources. Updated daily.

Welcome

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Tourism
A quick reference to the wide range of basic definitions, concepts, themes, issues, methods, perspectives, and institutions relating to the tourism industry.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Premium contains over 125 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, all published by Oxford University Press. Areas of coverage include science and medicine, the humanities and social sciences, and business and law. Content includes world maps, illustrations, timelines, weblines, and key titles from the Oxford Companions series. English dictionaries and thesauri, guides to grammar and usage, and dictionaries of etymology, foreign languages, quotations, and names are provided.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Sage International Encyclopedia of Travel & Tourism
Taking a global and multidisciplinary approach, The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Travel and Tourism brings together a team of international scholars to examine the travel and tourism industry, which is expected to grow at an annual rate of four percent for the next decade. In over 600 entries spanning four comprehensive volumes, the Encyclopedia examines the business of tourism around the world paying particular attention to the social, economic, environmental, and policy issues at play. The book examines global, regional, national, and local issues including transportation, infrastructure, the environment, and business promotion.

Iceland

Most reputable articles are published in peer reviewed journals, which only accessible with a subscription. USM Libraries provides subscription access to around 75,000 such journals which can either be browsed by publication or searched within various databases.

Browse All Subscription Journals, Magazines & Newspapers

Journals by Title
Search for journals by title, then browse issues by clicking on the database(s) listed or search all contents.
Newspapers Resources Guide
A subject guide on news and magazine collections in the USM Databases

Search for Articles Within Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
RECOMMENDED, start here for a comprehensive business database. EBSCO’s Business Source Complete has full text coverage of over 3,700 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more, plus an additional 3,000 journals that are indexed and abstracted. BSC also provides full text access to the Harvard Business Review and the top five business magazines.

Business Source Complete indexes and abstracts more than 4,800 scholarly, trade, popular, and special interest serials in the fields of business and industry. More than half of the publications are peer- reviewed, and approximately 3,700 provide full text. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight includes access to all of Emerald's currently published journals as well as selected backfiles. Topics covered include management research, engineering, computing & technology, education, and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most-used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. It also has full text for more than 100 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Laws and state and federal legislation documents
IBISWorld Industry Research Reports & Business Environment Profiles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld’s Industry Research Reports are powerful business tools that provide strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries and over 70 global industries.

Business Environment Profiles provide insight into these key drivers, which include exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online provides access to full-text articles in more than 400 SAGE journals from 1999 to the present. Topics covered are primarily in the social sciences as well as sciences, technology, and medicine. All journal titles in the collection are also listed and linked individually in LibrarySearch.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/journal-title-lists
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.

Travel as a Political Act (book) by Rick Steves
Call Number: USM G155.A1 S6675 2015
ISBN: 1631210688
Publication Date: 2015
Economics of Sustainable Tourism (book) by Fabio Cerina, Anil Markandya, & Michael McAleer (Eds)
Call Number: USM G156.5.S87 E26 2011
ISBN: 9780415583855
Publication Date: 2010
Tourism in Japan: An ethno-semiotic analysis (book) by Arthur Asa Berger
Call Number: USM G155.J27 B47 2010
ISBN: 9781845411343
Publication Date: 2010

You can search for E-books the same way as print books, using LibrarySearch. You're able to access those indicated as being available either to USM or the UMaine System (UM).
You cannot borrow E-books from other libraries.

LibrarySearch (Library Catalog) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LibrarySearch is the book catalog for the University of Maine System Libraries. Records for books, videos and other materials are indexed. Online access is provided within records to online sources, such as e-books and streaming videos. To locate and access articles use any of our article databases, instead.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 7,885 e-books. The titles are also searchable in LibrarySearch.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection that includes over 50,000 titles spanning all academic subject areas. Individual UMS libraries have also purchased some ebooks that are restricted to a single user at a time.

E-Consumers in the Era of New Tourism (E-book) by Erkan Sezgin (Ed)
Call Number: E-book, Click title to access
ISBN: 9789811000874
Publication Date: 2016
Marketing Places and Spaces (E-book) by Arch G. Woodside; Antónia Correia (Editor); Juergen Gnoth (Editor); Alan Fyall (Editor); Metin Kozak (Editor)
Call Number: E-book, Click title to access
ISBN: 9781784419400
Publication Date: 2015
Tourism in Latin America (E-book) by Alexandre Panosso Netto & Luiz Gonzaga Godoi Trigo (Eds)
Call Number: E-book, Click title to access
ISBN: 9783319057354
Publication Date: 2014

The websites provided here are a sample of authoritative local, national, and international sources. Ask A Librarian for help finding more

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational video content in all subject areas. Includes the FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.

Citing all sources you consulted in your research is essential. APA (American Psychological Association) is the most commonly used citation style for Tourism and Hospitality. The APA Stylebook is available as an eBook and in print at each USM Libraries location.

Books: In every LibrarySearch record you can get a citation. Click on the book's title and underneath it click on Citation. There will be options for the citing in APA, MLA, Chicago, and Harvard styles. Remember to double check any electronically generated citation.
Articles: Many of our databases include a citation function at the article level. It will display the citation for you to copy or you can email the article with the citation included. Remember to double check this citation.

APA Style 7th ed - Purdue OWL
Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style.
Zoterobib: For a Quick Bibliography
A way to generate a quick reference for a few sources, using Zotero
Zotero
A free citation creation and management tool. Great for when you're doing a lot of research.

Citation Tutorials

*Tourism & Hospitality: Home

Ask A Librarian

Travel News

Finding Books

Welcome

Library Essentials