Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Places to Start
These are some good databases and search tools for you to start your research with.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) provides access to a range of encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference sources. Individual titles may be added or cancelled yearly.
You can also search:
- USM OneSearch, our google search for everything the library owns.
- URSUS, the catalog of the UMaine system.
- The library book shelves in the HF5400s to HF6100s call number range.
OneSearch searches for everything the USM library owns. It's a good place to start, but searching in URSUS and a Database or two sometimes get you closer to what you're looking for.
URSUS (Library Catalog)
Catalog for the University of Maine System Libraries, the Bangor Public Library, Maine State Library, Maine State Archives, and Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library.
News and Current Events
Proquest One Business
This database has full text periodicals (newspapers and magazines) included in its vast collection.
In depth reports on current issues in the news by expert reporters who cover them.
A collection of current newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and more.
Maine specific current newspapers.
New York Times
Full text digital copies from 2001 to present. Use the Journals and eBook search on the libraries main page for older full text copies.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Different points of views on hot button issues