Skip to Main Content
University of Southern Maine
Libraries & Learning

Information Literacy

new 2024

Start Here! Compete BEFORE your library session

1. Your USM ID card is your Library Card!

Use it to check out books at any of the campus libraries, to create an InterLibrary Loan account (you'll need to type in the 218... or 250... number on your ID card), and to log into your library account.

If you have any issues, please call 207-780-4270 or stop by the main desk at the Library in Portland, Gorham, or LAC.

2. Create your Interlibrary Loan Account

to borrow materials from other libraries. This is a separate system from other University systems. We suggest you use the same username as your @maine.edu e-mail (the before @maine.edu part) and a different password. 

Resources for activities

Searching Tips and Tricks

  • Most databases allow for searching with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
    • Use AND to focus your search and combine different aspects of your topic
    • Use OR to broaden your search and find sources that use different words for the same concept.
    • Use NOT to omit certain terms from your results.
  • Use an asterisk (*) to truncate words if you want to search for all words with that root. For example, “environment*” would search for environment, environmental, environmentalism, etc.
  • Put quotes around a phrase that you want the database to search as a phrase, rather than as individual words.
  • Group synonyms inside parentheses using OR between each one

Example:

LibrarySearch is the combined library catalog for the entire University of Maine system. You can search the entire system, or select University of Southern Maine Libraries in the drop-down.

Other helpful tips:

  • If you find a book that is relevant to your needs, look at the "Subject" area of the book's record. Click on a few of the subjects to find other similar books.
  • If the UMaine System doesn't have a book you want, the next option is to search MaineCat which includes both private colleges and public libraries. If you don't have success in these two places, put in an Interlibrary Loan request through your ILLiad account. If you don't have have an account, you can create a free account.

LibrarySearch

Advanced Search

Most databases, as well as LibrarySearch and MaineCat, assign subjects to books and articles. A subject is a designated word or phrase that describes an idea or concept and groups all articles or books about that concept together.

  • Subjects are also variously called descriptors, controlled vocabulary, headings, or index terms.
  • To search by subject you have to know the exact subject term. Most databases that use subjects have a Thesaurus that you can use to look up subject terms. You can also do a keyword search, find a book or article that is relevant to your research, and look at the subject terms assigned to it.
  • LibrarySearch and MaineCat use Library of Congress Subject Headings and each database has their own list of subject headings, so you have to look up subjects in each database independently.

There are many ways you can get research materials from other libraries, if USM does not have what you need. In the vast majority of cases, there is no charge to you for this service!

  • From LibrarySearch, use the  button in the middle of an item's page.
  • From MaineCat, use the  button in the middle of an item's page.
  • From a database use InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad).