Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Books on Middle Grades and Curriculum
Dramatizing the Content with Curriculum-Based Readers Theatre, Grades 6-12 by
Call Number: USM GOR Stacks LB1027.23 .F59 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Improve fluency, comprehension, and retention of content information in your secondary classroom with a Readers Theatre approach that uses curriculum-based scripts to emphasize both reading and core content. You'll find a framework for understanding, introducing, writing, revising, assessing, rehearsing, and performing Curriculum-Based Readers Theatre, as well as a variety of additional tools that include sample scripts, script templates, and a guide to computer-formatting the scripts. An emphasis on student-written scripts, along with the author's straightforward approach, makes this unique method simple to incorporate in content area classrooms.
Literacy Leadership for Grades 5-12 by
Call Number: USM GOR Stacks LB1631 .T245 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Many students leave elementary school without developing the reading skills they need to succeed in middle and high schools. Meanwhile, educators at all levels are under more pressure to maximize students' literacy achievement. Here's a book that provides the leadership strategies and practices you need to rise to this challenge. With clear examples and basic steps, the authors describe a fail-safe literacy system that includes *Analyzing the strengths of your current approach and setting high expectations. *Finding the hidden sources of information that reveal whether students are developing literacy behaviors. *Identifying where to adjust your current curriculum and instruction. *Planning literacy-focused professional development and continuous improvement.
Mathematical Mindsets by
Call Number: USM POR Stacks QA135.6 .B68 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Banish math anxiety and give students of all ages a clear roadmap to success Mathematical Mindsets provides practical strategies and activities to help teachers and parents show all children, even those who are convinced that they are bad at math, that they can enjoy and succeed in math. Jo Boaler--Stanford researcher, professor of math education, and expert on math learning--has studied why students don't like math and often fail in math classes. She's followed thousands of students through middle and high schools to study how they learn and to find the most effective ways to unleash the math potential in all students. There is a clear gap between what research has shown to work in teaching math and what happens in schools and at home. This book bridges that gap by turning research findings into practical activities and advice. Boaler translates Carol Dweck's concept of 'mindset' into math teaching and parenting strategies, showing how students can go from self-doubt to strong self-confidence, which is so important to math learning. Boaler reveals the steps that must be taken by schools and parents to improve math education for all. Mathematical Mindsets: Explains how the brain processes mathematics learning Reveals how to turn mistakes and struggles into valuable learning experiences Provides examples of rich mathematical activities to replace rote learning Explains ways to give students a positive math mindset Gives examples of how assessment and grading policies need to change to support real understanding Scores of students hate and fear math, so they end up leaving school without an understanding of basic mathematical concepts. Their evasion and departure hinders math-related pathways and STEM career opportunities. Research has shown very clear methods to change this phenomena, but the information has been confined to research journals--until now. Mathematical Mindsets provides a proven, practical roadmap to mathematics success for any student at any age.
Searching for Books: URSUS, MaineCat, WorldCat
eBooks on Middle Grades and Curriculum
Linked titles take you to the URSUS record where you click on the host database. From an off-campus location you will be prompted to enter your name and ID barcode (25022...)
English, Grades 6-8 by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Common Core's English resources empower educators to meet the expectations of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English Language Arts (ELA) and build essential content knowledge for students in grades 6-8. Each grade in The Wheatley Portfolio features a comprehensive, coherent sequence of thematic units that engage students in deep study of worthwhile texts and topics. Features of this book include: Six thematic units for each grade, each centered on a curated collection of literary and informational texts Focus standards for each unit that complement the topic and promote student mastery of essential literacy skills Suggested texts and activities to incorporate science, art, and history into English instruction This revised second edition includes a sample text study that guides students through a close read of an exemplary text, updated web resources, and refreshed suggested works. Educators who create their curriculum based on Common Core's Wheatley Portfolioguarantee that students are exposed to content-rich instruction and have ample opportunity to master the reading, writing, speaking, listening, and language skills articulated in the CCSS for ELA.
Common Core Curriculum Maps in United States and World History, Grades 3-5 by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Comprehensive Common Core curriculum for United States History, Grades 3-5 The Alexandria Plan is Common Core's curriculum tool for the teaching of United States and World History. It is a strategic framework for identifying and using high quality informational texts and narrative nonfiction to meet the expectations of the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English Language Arts (ELA) while also sharing essential historical knowledge drawn from the very best state history and civics standards from around the country. The curriculum is presented in this four volume series: Common Core Curriculum: United States History, Grades K-2; Common Core Curriculum: World History, Grades K-2; Common Core Curriculum: United States History, Grades 3-5; and Common Core Curriculum: World History, Grades 3-5. Features of each book include: Learning Expectations, which articulate the key ideas, events, facts, and figures to be understood by students in a particular grade span. Suggested anchor texts for each topic. In depth text studies, comprised of text-dependent questions, student responses, and assessments based on a featured anchor text. Select additional resources. Concise Era Summaries that orient both teachers and students to the historical background. The curriculum helps teachers pose questions about texts covering a wide range of topics. This volume, Common Core Curriculum: United States History, Grades 3-5, introduces upper elementary students to 18 key eras in our country's history, from the original Native American people to modern times, through stories that they will treasure forever.
The Essentials of Social Studies, Grades K-8 by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2008
Today's fixation on math and literacy testing makes it tough for social studies teachers to deliver a challenging curriculum. But you can overcome those constraints and prepare students to actively participate in a democratic society with the ideas from this new volume in our Priorities in Practice series. Firsthand accounts from talented and dedicated social studies experts and teachers update you on the latest trends, including * Why social studies teachers have to be advocates for their subject * How to align social studies curriculum to power standards that integrate with other academic disciplines * Why lessons and assessments should give students opportunities to solve problems, work on projects, and engage in simulations * Ways to incorporate social activism and controversy into lessons Lean how new teaching and assessment approaches in the classroom are converging with new methods for teacher professional development.
The Fluency Construct by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2015
This book provides a comprehensive overview of fluency as a construct and its assessment in the context of curriculum-based measurement (CBM). Comparing perspectives from language acquisition, reading, and mathematics, the book parses the vagueness and complexities surrounding fluency concepts and their resulting impact on testing, intervention, and students' educational development. Applications of this knowledge in screening and testing, ideas for creating more targeted measures, and advanced methods for studying fluency data demonstrate the overall salience of fluency within CBM. Throughout, contributors argue for greater specificity and nuance in isolating skills to be measured and improved, and for terminology that reflects those educational benchmarks. Included in the coverage: Indicators of fluent writing in beginning writers. Fluency in language acquisition, reading, and mathematics. Foundations of fluency-based assessments in behavioral and psychometric paradigms. Using response time and accuracy data to inform the measurement of fluency. Using individual growth curves to model reading fluency. Latent class analysis for reading fluency research. The Fluency Construct: Curriculum-Based Measurement Concepts and Applications is an essential resource for researchers, graduate students, and professionals in clinical child and school psychology, language and literature, applied linguistics, special education, neuropsychology, and social work.
Sign-in through the MyUSM portal for access to thousands of eBooks via the URSUS catalog or via one of our eBook databases. In URSUS, students have access to books listing 'USM Access' or 'UM System-wide Access.'