Subject Guides: EDU 615: Middle Level Curriculum (Stewart McCafferty): Home

Library Essentials

Introduction

Students in Special Education, Professional Education, Teacher Education, rehabilitation, and Literacy should find this guide useful to their coursework. If you would like to suggest a title you think would be beneficial to students please contact Tim Lynch or your instructor.

Curriculum Links

Curriculum Video

Databases for Middle Level Curriculum

The following Databases are useful to many classes in HRD and Education. Note these are not the only databases available to use, just the ones recommended. Click the little blue circles for more information! Remember to contact Tim Lynch with questions!

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window Connect students and library patrons to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from more than 18,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and reference sources, with more than 8,800 in full text. Academic OneFile also offers engaging multimedia, with over 59,000 images and 3,500+ audio files. Also included is a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; and links to over 1.2 million video files, from shows like Frontline and NOVA. With extensive coverage in key subject areas including the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects, students and patrons are able to find, share, or use accurate, current information with ease
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to selected journals in North America. Coverage includes education, specifically adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, special education, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods. Full-text coverage from 1983, citation coverage from 1969.
- This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window With 800+ full-text periodicals and 200 reports, Educator's Reference Complete is a great resource for any educator--from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education and testing. It also provides insights on issues in administration, funding, and education policy.
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC - Education (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC - Education (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
- This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window Provides citation access to scholarly journals for educators. Subject areas include assessment, best practices, continuing education, current research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education.
- This link opens in a new window