Subject Guides: * Criminology: Crime-related statistics

If you Google, do so responsibly

Google Advanced Search

Use Google Advanced Search to limit your searches by domain names (.edu, .org or .gov), searching for or eliminating words or phrases, and selecting a time frame, reduces the number of results and allows you to get a more focused search.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides easy searching of scholarly literature on the Internet across many disciplines. Access to the library's subscription resources is through the "Full Text @ USM" link.

Use Google Scholar if you want only scholarly writings. Many will have been published in journals to which USM subscribes or you can request for free using InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Sign into the MyUSM Portal to have our library holdings displayed.

Ask-A-Librarian

Never pay for an article online without talking to us first! Never pay for an article through Google. If we don't have access to an article, you can request for free via InterLibrary Loan (ILL) When in doubt, check with the library staff.

Statistics

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Topics
Justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Topical Index that include: corrections, courts, crime prevention, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims.
FBI Crime Data Explorer
The FBI’s Crime Data Explorer (CDE) is the digital front door for Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) data. The interactive online tool enables law enforcement and the public to more easily use and understand the massive amounts of UCR data currently collected.
National Violent Death Reporting System
CDC Injury Prevention and Control data.
EZAPOP
Easy Access to Juvenile Populations: 1990-2020

Bureau of Justice Statistics

BJS Data Analysis Tools
These dynamic data analysis tools allows you to generate tables and graphs based on the variables of interest to you.
BJS Data and Product Finder
This page provides quick access to the data table archives and other files associated with BJS releases.
more...less...
This source does NOT provide additional information, just a numerical presentation that can be opened in a spreadsheet. Mostly national or state level data.

Note: some of these resources allow/require you to create your own tables based on your information needs

Local level crime

Maine's Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program
Maine Statistical Analysis Center (SAC)
A partnership between the USM Muskie School of Public Service and the Maine Department of Corrections, SAC collaborates with numerous community-based and governmental agencies. SAC conducts applied research, evaluates programs and new initiatives, and provides technical assistance, consultation and organizational development services. SAC is funded by the Bureau of Justice Statistics and guided by a statewide advisory group.
Maine Department of Public Safty
Hate Crime Incidents per Bias Motivation and Quarter by State and Agency, 2019
Maine Electronic Court Records
Members of the public can search for electronic court records using re:SearchMaine. To search for an electronic court record on re:SearchMaine you must first register for an account. There is no fee to register and conduct searches.
Not all court records are avaible electronically so you may still have to visit the courthouse where the document is stored.
Maine Department of Corrections Reports & Statistical Data
This data includes weekly, monthly, and yearly reports on the corrections populations in Maine.

Internet Resources for General Country Information

Bureau of Justice Statistics
One of the best places for a variety of criminal justice statistics.
International Crime Victim Survey
An important source of criminal justice data, the ICVS is conducted every few years with the purpose of providing a more realistic picture of crime in countries by means of household surveys and by standardizing the definitions of crimes. This site allows you to view some statistics online, as well as browse a complete list of publications based on the Survey.
International Database (IDB)
Database maintained by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, this is a good source for demographic and socioeconomic information about countries all over the world.
Internet Public Library
Has an extensive listing of online newspapers throughout the world.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
Searchable site with links to many publications such as the United Nations Survey on Crime Trends and World Drug Report.
United Nations Dept of Economic and Social Affairs Statistics
A searchable compilation of demographic, economic, social and environmental statistics from many source.