Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use library databases?
We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:
1) They are consistent in describing publications; you don't have to worry about finding a citation that's missing a volume or page number.
2) They are clear about what they do - you know the time period covered, the journal titles included, etc.
3) They usually have clear links - via the Article Linker button - to the online full text that USM Libraries has purchased.
4) Contrary to what a lot of people think, there is a lot of information that isn't on the open web. And some of that information IS in our subscription databases.
Online Indexes and Databases
These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications relevant to your research topics.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal justice policies, theories, programs and administration. Primarily a domestic focus but has numerous international topics too.
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice Collection makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research on criminal justice. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals Online provides access to full-text articles in more than 400 SAGE journals from 1999 to the present. Topics covered are primarily in the social sciences as well as sciences, technology, and medicine. All journal titles in the collection are also listed and linked individually in URSUS
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of full text articles from nearly 370 academic legal periodicals.
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from the last 5-15 years (dates vary) of many important U.S. newspapers, including the Atlanta Journal/Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Full text is available for most titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The primary index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to the social work literature, with good coverage of topics such as child abuse and domestic violence.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly. Dates of Coverage: 1987 - current.
eJournals & eBooks
You can search for specific Journals by title using our eJournal & eBooks Search below
You can also look though our eJournal collection by Browsing by Subject.
eJournals & EBooks Search
You'll find Criminology under Social Sciences--Social Welfare & Social Work--Criminology, Penology & Juvenile Delinquency
Electronic Journal Search Tool
Get articles USM doesn't have
If you can't get access to an article or book, you can request a copy from outside our library with InterLibrary Loan. It's free but you'll need to create a user name and password.