Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Evidence Based Practice?
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Collection Plus is a source of high quality health care data for providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession. Cochrane Collection Plus combines the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and Health Technology Assessments (HTA) with the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Methodology Register. It is an Ebscohost Database. Use the HELP guides!
OTSeeker: Evidence-Based Practice Resources
Registration required. Database related to OT interventions. Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials, and other resources. Note: Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content on OTseeker from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously.
One good article can lead to others!
Other EBP Websites or Search Engines
AHRQ Agency for Health Care Research & Quality
U.S. DHHS agency. For best results search by topic (Long Term Care, Evidence...)
National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)
The National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) is the library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR).
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is a free database of over 37,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Australia-based. Updated monthly.
Search engine for evidence-based stroke rehabilitation.
Includes a Build Your Own PICO Search. UK-based. Recently moved to a freemium model: free with limited features, more with $40/personal subscription.
Produced by NARIC, this disability and rehabilitation literature database covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
AOTA Evidence-Based Resources
AOTA's website has an excellent EBP Resource Directory, as well as an Evidence Exchange for CAPs. CATs are found in the EBP Topics. Use your student AOTA login to access these.
AOTA has also published a series of EBP guidelines...you can find these in URSUS by doing a title or keyword search for Practice guidelines series. Note: all the current guidelines are Reference:Library Use Only.