Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly articles are published in journals issued periodically (monthly, quarterly, or annually). Below are suggested titles to begin searching for articles.
Have a Question? We've Got Answers!
If you begin with searching databases, use keywords and subjects to search across multiple journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Three different Arts & Sciences collections.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th century.
Slavery & Abolition in the US: publications of the 1800s This link opens in a new window
Slavery and Abolition in the US provides access to select publications of the 1800s as a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. The publications are all drawn from the holdings of the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library, as well as each of their respective Special Collections Departments. The collection includes more than 15,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A good starting point; you can search thousands of journals from this one site.
Journal of Black Studies RSS feed -- OnlineFirst Articles