Subject Guides: LOS 301 & SBS 301: Group Dynamics: Home

Library Basics

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.
Learning Commons
Each USM Library has collaborative work space in the Learning Commons. Portland and Gorham offer in-person tutoring. Tutors are available for Zoom appointments for students studying on all campuses and on-line..
Sign-in to MyUSM Portal
For best results, sign-in to MyUSM portal before beginning your work. Use your username, typically your firstname.lastname. No need to use @maine.edu.
USM Card Services
Contact card services to obtain a USM ID which is also used as your library card. You need your ID Card to access Library Resources.(Note: Alumni cannot access databases remotely) If you have any questions, please call 207-780-4270 .
USM Library Homepage
Library homepage.

Business Source Complete
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (videos), and more.
Communication Source
Content from publications worldwide pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies, and related fields--including organizational communication.
PsycINFO
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts)
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.. Includes journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations.

Scholarly versus Popular Periodicals Video Link (Vanderbilt)
Discover how to tell the difference between popular and scholarly periodicals and articles in this short Vanderbilt video.

Scholarly Trade Popular
This chart describes the differences between these publications.

Zoterobib: For a Quick Bibliography
by Pat Potter Last Updated Dec 8, 2021 37 views this year

Zotero: For Research Papers
by Pat Potter Last Updated Sep 2, 2025 236 views this year