Subject Guides: SED 235: Exceptionalities in General Ed Classrooms: Getting Started

Library Essentials

USM Libraries' Home Page
Library websites with resource and service information..
USM Libraries Hours & Locations
Hours & Locations of the Portland, Gorham, & Lewiston-Auburn Campus (LAC) campuses.
Sign-in to MyUSM Portal
For best results, sign-in to MyUSM portal before beginning your work. Use your username, typically your firstname.lastname. No need to use @maine.edu.
USM Library Check Out Policies
USM's borrowing policies.
Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Account
Create or sign into your free ILLiad account to electronically request journal articles that USM does not have, or to request print books, music scores, & videos not available through LibrarySearch and MaineCat.
Ereserves
Access Ereserves for your courses. If you have signed in through the MyUSM portal, you won't need to sign in again! Ereserves are also in the BrightSpace for your course(s).
Tutoring at USM: Subjects
The Learning Commons, The Learning Commons, which is part of the Library, provides free tutoring for students in Writing, Academic Subjects, Technology, & Peer Coaching.
Tutoring at USM: Writing
The Learning Commons, which is part of the Library, provides free tutoring for students in Writing, Academic Subjects, Technology, & Peer Coaching.
Reserve a Study Room
You can reserve a room in the Library for up to 2 hours/day. Be sure to select the Library you want (Por, Gor, or LAC) first and then the date, room, and time. Be sure to Confirm your appointment.

USM LibGuides
Find Subject, Course, and additional library related resources.
Databases A-Z
A list and description of all of our databases. Use the drop-down to select a specific subject area or limit your search to a specific resource type.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Education Research Complete
Coverage includes education, specifically adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, school administration, special education, teacher evaluation, and teaching methods.
PsycINFO
The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.

USM Special Education Department
The Special Education programs are designed for individuals seeking to earn certification to teach special education or enhance their skills to support students with various learning needs.
Schedule a Research Appointment
One-on-one research consultations — yes, we can help you find or cite resources for your research.