* History

JSTOR is a full text digital archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage generally begins with the first issuse running to within 3 years of present. Current issues of journals are often available from other USM databases.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes more than 1,500 periodicals in the fields of political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. Indexing begins in 1975, and is updated monthly.

Historical Statistics of the United States updates and expands the Census Bureau's 1975 work of the same name. It contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Also covers topics that received little or no coverage in the 1975 edition: American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, and ethnicity. Allows one to graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables, and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.

The Humanities International Index provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,900 titles, from 1925 to present. Titles include articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

Full text online access to legal journals

American Periodicals Series Online includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the 1950s. Titles include Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography is a searchable archive of the WPA Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938, which hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves. Transcripts for 2,000 interviews, from seventeen states are accessible.

Avalon Project is a product of Yale Law School and contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government grouped by time period from ancient times to the present.

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Items indexed include all formats with electronic items accessed via permanent URLs to ensure long-term access. Include all time periods.

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention of 17774 contains more than 2.4 million entries via Library of Congress. It contains 277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full-text digital access to nearly every book, directory, bible, sheet music, sermon, pamphlet or broadside published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century.

Numeric data base of U.S. Census population totals for Maine minor civil Divisions (cities, towns) and counties, from each decennial census, 1790 to present.

Maine News Index Online indexes Maine newspaper and magazine citations and abstracts. 1992 to present. Articles published 1945-1992 in Portland Press Herald, Maine Sunday Telegram, Portland Evening Express, Portland Sunday Telegram, Maine Times, Down East, and Casco Bay Weekly, can be searched using the card file index that is housed in Portland Public Library's Portland Room.

Making of America (Cornell) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. At the Cornell University site, 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900 have been selected, scanned, and made available.

19th Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local British newspapers of the nineteenth century, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The content includes 60 titles selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published. The collection has daily and weekly papers with a focus on London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism.

19th Century Collections Online focuses on primary source collections including a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Archives include British Politics and Society; Asia and the West; Europe and Africa; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transnational Networks; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Photography: The World through the Lens; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection, which includes more than 9,500 English, French and German titles of fiction (including gothic novels), short prose, dramatic works, and poetry.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.

Sanborn Map Company maps of Maine 1867-1970.

Slavery and Abolition in the US provides access to select publications of the 1800s as a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works. The publications are all drawn from the holdings of the Millersville University Library and the Dickinson College Library, as well as each of their respective Special Collections Departments. The collection includes more than 15,000 individual pages of printed text and corresponding searchable transcriptions.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Find quantitative historical information from 1878 to 2012, covering: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations.