Subject Guides: Sociology: Find Articles

Why use library databases?

We recommend that you start your research with library databases for several reasons:

1) Your tuition helps pay for access to the journal articles contained in the databases.

2) They are clear about what they do - you know whether the journals contained within are peer-reviewed,

3) There are many journals in databases that are not free. If you just use Google, you will be missing many resources.

LibrarySearch (Journals by Title)
Search specifically for journals in the catalog for the University of Maine System, including USM.

These indexes and databases help you identify journal articles and other publications relevant to your research topic.

Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts)
Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Comprehensive and international in scope.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 7,400 scholarly publications of which 6,300 are peer reviewed. Academic areas of study include: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Communication Source
Provides indexing and some full text of media and communication studies journals.
PsycINFO
Indexes the professional and academic literature (journals, books and book chapters) in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. The database includes information from empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, conference reports and dissertations.
Social Services Abstracts
Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, human development and related areas including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980.