Guide to Special Collections: Manuscript Collections

Browse

1. Start at the Research page on the Special Collections webpages.
2. Select one of the five manuscript collections.
3. Browse collection descriptions or use CTRL+F to keyword search descriptions.

If a collection is processed, review the linked finding aid to locate the folders you plan to request in the Reading Room.

If a collection is unprocessed, contact usm.specialcollections@maine.edu to request a collection inventory.

Browse

Review the complete list of Finding Aids here.

Search

You can keyword search all available finding aids.

1. Navigate to the complete list of Finding Aids.
2. Enter a keyword in the search box in the left sidebar (see image).

Digitized items are organized into meta-collections and collections, just like physical items.

Browse

1. Starting at digitalcommons.usm.maine.edu, select Special Collections.
2. Select a meta-collection from the list. Example: African American Collection.
3. Select a collection from the list. Example: Eugene Jackson Papers.
4. If applicable, select a series from the list. Example: Ruby Family Photo Album.

Search

1. Navigate to the meta-collection, collection, or series you want to search.
2. Use the search box in the left sidebar to search by keyword. Searches are automatically limited to the group of items you're currently viewing.

Special Collections staff use call numbers to identify and retrieve collections for use by students and other researchers.

Manuscript collections are identified by a call number that includes a collection prefix followed by "MS" and a serial number. The five call number formats are:

• GEN-MS (Manuscript Collection)
• SAMGEN-MS (Sampson General Collection)
• AA-MS (African American Collection)
• JUD-MS (Judaica Collection)
• LG-MS (LGBTQ+ Collection)

Example call numbers with collection titles:

• LG-MS0111 Fortuna, Henderson, and Prizer Collection
• JUD-MS0004 Rosalyne S. Bernstein Papers
• SAMGEN-MS0001 Jean Byers Sampson Papers
• AA-MS0006 Home Is Where I Make It Oral History Collection
• GEN-MS0068 Lillian E. Brooks Nursing Diary

Special Collections is home to over 300 collections of primary sources. How do we help you find items in our collections? A finding aid describes a collection and shows researchers where to look within a collection. See the section on Finding Aids to learn more.

Processed collections have Finding Aids that help researchers understand the contents of a collection. Processed collections are available for use in the Reading Room any time.

Unprocessed collections don't have Finding Aids yet, but they are available for use! Upon request, Special Collections staff will provide you with a collection inventory to help you identify whether the collection contains materials related to your research project.

To protect third-party privacy, Special Collections staff will review unprocessed collections before you use them. Please email usm.specialcollections@maine.edu at least 48 hours before your visit if you plan to research an unprocessed collection.

Manuscript collections are stored in a closed stacks, meaning only Special Collections staff have access to them. Staff will retrieve one cart of materials at a time (about 10 boxes fit on a cart).

To request manuscript collections from the closed stacks during your Reading Room visit:

1. Use the Finding Aid to identify the folders you want to review.
2. Take a paper call slip from the reference desk.
3. Write the following information on line 1.
   1. Call Number. Example: GEN-MS0041
   2. Box Number. Example: Box 2
   3. (Optional) Folder Number or Item Number. Example: Folder 24
4. Write the collection title on line 2. Example: Gorham Academy Archives
5. Write your name and the date on line 3.
6. Repeat for each box or folder you want to request.
7. Return the call slips to the person at the reference desk.

If the Finding Aid includes notations like FC, OS, Oversize, or Restricted next to the folder title, ask the person at the reference desk for guidance.