Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Journal Search Tool
Finding Research Instruments in Journal Articles
Following is a selected list of databases with specific instructions for finding research instruments and/or references to them. Following is a selected list of databases which cover social work and related fields. Many of these databases include citations and abstracts only; to check for the availability of articles, use Article Linker.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A first source for locating information on nursing and allied health topics in journals, doctoral dissertations, selected nursing books, educational software, and audiovisuals. To find articles that discuss/assess/identify research instruments, choose the "instrumentation" field (IN) from the drop-down menu and enter your keywords or the name of the instrument. To find the instruments themselves, enter keyword, then click "refine search" and choose "research instrument" from the "publication type" menu.
ERIC - Education
The following ERIC descriptors will help retrieve articles that discuss/assess/identify research instruments (you can join the ones that interest you using "OR"): test validity, test reliability, measurement techniques, rating scales, psychometrics
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the PILOTS bibliographic database is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. To find articles that refer to research instruments, click the green "advanced search" tab, and select the "tests and measures" field from the pull-down menu to the right of the search boxes. You can search for keywords in the "tests and measures" field or combine an asterisk in the "tests and measures" field with an author, subject, or keyword search.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 1,300 psychology journals in about 20 languages. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, nursing, sociology, education, and other areas. To find research instruments, select the field "tests and measures" and type "appended" in the search box. May be combined with a subject or keyword search.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to articles and dissertations on social work, social welfare, and related fields. To find articles that discuss/assess/identify research instruments, search the "descriptor" field for "scales or measures or inventory or instruments or questionnaires".
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts covers journal articles and dissertations in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development since 1980. The following Social Services Abstracts descriptors will help retrieve articles that discuss/assess/identify research instruments: measurement, scales
Sociology Collection (Includes Sociological Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Sociology Collection indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies. Content types covered include journals, books, conference papers, and doctoral dissertations. Sociology Collection incorporates the indexing from Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and Sociology Database into a single resource; each may also be searched separately. Sociology Collection includes full text articles from approximately 500 journals; it links to many more full text journals in other databases and journal collections, depending in part on each UMS library's subscriptions.
Quick Link to Web of Science Cited Reference Search