Subject Guides: Anti-Racism : Selected Local &amp; Historical Resources

Maine Wabanaki

Report of the Maine Wabanaki-State Child Welfare Truth & Reconciliation Commission
This report describes the process and findings, discoveries and recommendations of the Maine Wabanaki-State Child Welfare Truth & Reconciliation Commission. The mandate, signed by the governor of Maine and the five tribal chiefs as equals authorized the Commission to investigate whether or not the removal of Wabanaki children from their communities has continued to be disproportionate to non-Native children and to make recommendations...
Podcast: Esther Anne on Dawnland and The Work of Healing and Change
On the Beacon podcast, Taryn Hallweaver interviews Ether Anne, a founder of the Maine Wabanaki-State Child Welfare Truth and Reconciliation Commission, on the new film Dawnland and Maine’s ongoing history of oppression of native peoples.
Dawnland Teacher's Guide
Created for K-12 teachers by Missy Lesser, Learning Director at Upstander Project (the company that created Dawnland.)
Maine-Wabanaki Reach
Maine-Wabanaki REACH advances Wabanaki self-determination by strengthening the cultural, spiritual and physical well-being of Native people in Maine. We see a future where Maine and Wabanaki people join together, acknowledging truth, promoting healing and creating change.

REACH (Restoration-Engagement-Advocacy-Change-Healing) began as a collaboration of state and tribal child welfare workers who knew from their work together that children, families, and communities need truth, healing and change
USM Digital Commons Wabanaki Resources
Variety of resources related to the Wabanaki community.
Permanent Commission on the Status of Racial, Indigenous and Maine Tribal Populations
In 2020, the Maine legislature created the Permanent Commission on the Status of Racial, Indigenous and Maine Tribal Populations.

Dawnland

"For decades, child welfare authorities have been removing Native American children from their homes to “save them from being Indian.” In Maine, the first official Truth and Reconciliation Commission in the United States begins a historic investigation. Dawnland goes behind-the-scenes as this historic body grapples with difficult truths, redefines reconciliation, and charts a new course for state and tribal relations."

Dawnland is an Emmy award winning documentary & on the American Library Association's list of Notable Videos for Adults created by the Upstander Project.

USM Professors wanting to show Dawnland in class or put it in their class's Brightspace may contact USM Reserves.

USM Reserves
Email USM Reserves: usm.reserves@maine.edu
Check out this page for answers to your Reserves questions.
Dawnland Documentary (Preview)
Dawnland goes behind-the-scenes as Maine's Truth and Reconciliation Commission grapples with difficult truths, redefines reconciliation, and charts a new course for state and tribal relations.

Databases Available at USM

Find more articles on this topic! Sign in to MyUSM portal.

American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
This is a searchable archive of the WPA Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938, which hired field workers to collect the life histories of former slaves

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality.

Civil Rights and Social Justice
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a full text digital archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage generally begins with the first issues running to within 3 years of present. Current issues of journals are often available from other USM databases.
Project MUSE
Project Muse provides PDF full-text access to more than 600 peer-reviewed journals from 250 university presses and scholarly societies.
Slavery & Abolition in the US: publications of the 1800s
This database provides access to select publications of the 1800s as a digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

Anti-Racism Resources - History

The History of Racism in America (Smithsonian)
Smithsonian article, The History of Racism in America: 158 Resources to Understand Racism in America. Wide ranging article from historical context up until the present.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer's Project 1936-1938
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA).
National Center for Civil and Human Rights
Located in Atlanta, Georgia, the National Center for Civil Human Rights is a collection of exhibits featuring immersive experiences, people and events in the United States that embody the history of civil and human rights.
Museum of Jewish Heritage
Located in New York City, this museum describes itself as "a living memorial to the Holocaust." (MOJH website)
Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
The Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, part of the Birmingham Civil Rights National Monument and an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, is a cultural and educational research center that promotes a comprehensive understanding for the significance of civil rights developments in Birmingham.

Anti-Racism

Related books by USM Authors

Common Subject Terms to Use in LibrarySearch

Find more books on this topic!

Maine Resources

Maine Wabanaki

Databases Available at USM

Find more articles on this topic! Sign in to MyUSM portal.

Anti-Racism Resources - History