Criminal Justice Information: How To Find It, How To Use It
POR Reference HV7419.5.C75 1998
Information sources in the social sciences
POR Reference H61 .I56 2002
International government information and country information : a subject guide
POR Reference ZA5050 .M67 2004
Taking a moment at the start of your research to look at wide topics that interest you can be helpful in figuring out the focus of your project.
An encyclopedia or dictionary entry can give you a birds eye view of the different subcategories that topic has:
Example: Family Violence
This breaks down into A LOT of Subcategories: Child maltreatment, sexual abuse of children, child homicide, dating and courtship violence, intimate partner violence, homicide of intimates, elder abuse, and sibling violence.
These encyclopedias and dictionary's can also help you find sources like annual statistics that are gathered or organizations involved.
Once you have a better idea on a topic create some keywords and test them out using OneSearch. This will help you get an idea of what, if anything, has been published on your topic. If you come back with nothing, reach out to Ask a Librarian or Megan to make sure you're using good keywords.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
African Americans and Criminal Justice: an Encyclopedia by 
The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression by 
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by 
The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Violence by 
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behaviour by 
The SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory by 
The SAGE Dictionary of Criminology by 
