Effective July 2018, the Maine State Library has replaced the State's collection of EBSCO databases with Gale databases. The databases listed in this guide reflect that change. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to a librarian using Ask/Chat with a Librarian.
These resources contain basic overview information that can be useful when you're just beginning your research.
OneSearch is the default search box on the USM Library website and is a great place to start your research because it searches nearly all of the library's resources using a single search box (Basic) or with multiple boxes (Advanced). You can easily apply limits to refine your search. If you want a specific database, you can skip OneSearch and go directly to the Databases.
Also, don't forget to check out the Annual Review of... series. Of particular interest to MPPM will be those titles of Economics, Environment and Resources, Law and Social Science, Organizational Psychology and Organizational Behavior, Political Science, Public Health, Resource Economics, and Statistics and Its Application. You'll find the Annual Reviews Online listed under Databases. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) for any articles not available in USM's subscription.
Sign-in through the MyUSM portal for access to thousands of ebooks via the URSUS catalog or one of our ebook databases below. In URSUS, you have access to books listing "USM Access", "UM System-wide Access" or Maine Infonet Access.
What is Grey Lit?
Image from "Finding the hard to finds: Searching for grey literature (2012 Update)" below.
URSUS is the combined library catalog for the entire University of Maine system. You can search the entire system, or select University of Southern Maine Libraries in the drop-down.
Other helpful tips:
Most databases, as well as URSUS and MaineCat, assign subjects to books and articles. A subject is a designated word or phrase that describes an idea or concept and groups all articles or books about that concept together.
There are many ways you can get research materials from other libraries. In the vast majority of cases, there is no charge to you for this service!
My favorite resource for understanding citations is the OWL Purdue site, which covers the MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. To choose the style you need, scroll down to see the links on the left side of the OWL main page. Faculty in the PPM program prefer the APA Style.