Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: POR Reference BF31 .A65 2007
Compiles over 25,000 entries chosen by APA as the most relevant terms in psychology. Provides thousands of cross-references, directing the user to synonyms and antonyms, acronyms and abbreviations, related terms and concepts.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by
Call Number: POR Reference BF31 .E52 2001
Over 1,200 entries in this edition, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new. * Contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world. * Includes a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
Developing a strategy
Some suggestions on approaching your research:
- Keep a careful record of where and how you have searched (ie., reference books consulted, database or website name and search terms used) - it will save you time in the long run! [There's an example of a research log here; you can also save your searches within the EBSCO and ProQuest databases.]
- Keep track of the publications you've consulted by saving them in the library databases or using a citation manager such as Zotero.
- Check the references in the articles and books you use - they may lead you to other useful resources.
- Use subject encyclopedias, chronologies, and other background reading to help establish context and identify new terms that may be useful in your database/web searches. Keep track of the terms you generate using a Topic worksheet such as the one below.
A cross-disciplinary reference source on recent American social history.
American National Bibliography Online
Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
The Biographical Dictionary of Psychology provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences, interest and reception of over 500 people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology