Subject Guides: PSY 371: History and Systems of Psychology: Find Articles

Comparing Scholarly, Trade, & Popular Journals

Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Journal	Trade or Professional Magazines or Newspapers	Popular Magazines or Newspapers

The document below has a chart describing the differences between these publications.

Scholarly Trade Popular
This chart describes the differences between these publications.

Reader's Guide

Readers' guide to periodical literature

	USM POR Great Reading Room REF AI3 R48
	v.1 (1900) - v.55 (1995) Seventh Floor

Online Indexes and Databases

If you don't have a particular journal or article in mind, but are hoping to find journal articles on your topic, go directly to one of the databases below. If you are looking for a particular article that you have already identified, type its title into Onesearch or check the Journal Titles listing available from the libraries homepage.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text articles from 53 psychology journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage includes references and abstracts to 1,300+ journals in over 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in English. "Comprehensive coverage" dates back to the 1880s.
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title. The advanced search lets you limit to obituary as publication type.