Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Southern MaineLibraries

Library Resources for Faculty

Questions and Answers about Library Resources for Faculty

The USM Libraries are dedicated to providing high quality informational services to the USM community. Our collections focus on supporting the curricular mission of the university while also providing significant resources to support faculty research. We also provide instructional support around information literacy and specialized information sources.

Requesting Resources

The best way to request a book (whether physical or electronic) be added to the collection is to contact your department's liaison librarian. Please be aware that our budget for book purchases is generally expended by the end of April each year and plan accordingly. You should also be aware that in selecting items for the collection we prioritize items that support your teaching and the curriculum.

Fill out our video request form.


Search USM's video resources

Results will open in a new tab or window.



Course Reserves

The USM libraries support electronic and physical reserves to facilitate resource sharing and collocation on a per-course basis. We also maintain, with the gracious assistance of the Student Government Association and support from the Office of the Provost, a robust textbooks on reserve program.

Physical Reserves

Physical reserves are items from our collections that are reserved for limited use in connection with a course. Limitations placed on reserves include in-library only use and the length of time it may be used.

You may search for materials already on reserve in URSUS. Alternatively, you may call circulation: (207) 780-4270.

Fill out a copy of the Reserves Information & Form and e-mail it to usm.reserves@maine.edu.

Alternatively, you may deliver it to:

University of Southern Maine
Glickamn Library
Att: Reserves
314 Forest Ave
Portland, ME 04103

If you want a personal copy of a textbook or other books placed on Reserve for your students, you can drop off or send the books via inter-campus mail or regular mail to the Library.

Be sure to include a note with:

  • Your name (as the Instructor),
  • Course number,
  • Course name,
  • Campus Library (POR, GOR, LAC) on which you want the book placed on reserve,
  • Whether you will pick up the book(s) at the end of semester or whether you want staff to send it back to you via inter-campus mail or US mail — don't for get to include an address if you elect to have them sent back to you.

Please e-mail usm.reserves@maine.edu with the following information. Funding will determine whether we can purchase new books.

  • Instructor’s name,
  • Course number,
  • Course name,
  • Campus Library (POR, GOR, LAC) on which you want the book placed on reserve,
  • Book(s) title, author, year, edition (if applicable), ISBN, publisher or Amazon link

Electronic Reserves (ARES)

Electronic reserves (e-reserves) provide the ability to collocate many types of digital media, including articles, books chapters, web resources, streaming video, recorded musical performances and other such media. It also relieves faculty of the burden of determining for themselves what copyright permissions may be needed. Finally, it it generally convenient for student and integrated with UMS's learning management system BrightSpace (BS).

Please e-mail usm.reserves@maine.edu with:

Please e-mail usm.reserves@maine.edu with:

Please be advised we can not place copies of complete print textbooks in e-reserves due to copyright restrictions.

Complete this video request form.

Library Instructional Support

Our instructional team has the ability to provide many types of instructional support. See our dedicated Library instruction program page for details.

Our three specialized collections (Osher Map Library, the Franco American collection, and Special Collections) also have instructional staff that would love to help engage your students with primary and specialized sources. Their contact information is available on the page linked above.

Yes! Use our request form and just let us know it is online and we will be in touch to work out the details.

Yes! We have a set of BrightSpace modules we can add to your course, if you are interested please contact your liaison librarian. We can customize this set tutorials for your class. We also have separate free-standing tutorials, particularly videos, that you can use. Again please contact your liaison librarian if you would like to preview or use these resources in your class and they will be happy to help.

Finding Materials

One straightforward way is to enter the title of the item you are looking to find in OneSearch.

Another way is to search by book or journal title in URSUS.

We have access to over 96,990 journals. You can search by title in Serial Solutions. Serial Solutions will give you the date ranges held in each database providing access to the journal in question.

Another way to search for journals is to search by journal title in URSUS.

In our A-to-Z listing of databases there is a subject area filter that will produce a list of the database identified by a liaison librarian as having value in supporting inquiry in the subject area in question.

You can find our digitized archival resources in our instance of Digital Commons. You can also search across other institutions Digital Commons instances as well.

If the materials are at another library in the state as an available (the Request Status in the MaineCat record is AVAILABLE) physical artifact (not an e-book or dataset), you can use the request feature of MaineCat.

If the materials are not held by a library in the state, you can submit an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) request, and we will do our best to get it for you. If you are new to ILL, please see our ILL page to get started.

There is no definitive way to answer this, as different article information systems use different methods on different sets of articles, therefore these systems report different numbers and are incapable of counting beyond the limits of their input. That said, both Web of Science (which includes humanities articles as well, despite the name) and Google Scholar can give some indication as to citation count. Feel free to consult with the library liaison for your department.

Miscellaneous

Research Asstance, IT, BrightSpace, &c.

USM Libraries supports Zotero for citation management. Individual librarians may be comfortable assisting with other citation management software.

One may contact the IT helpdesk for help with technology-related issues you’re experiencing with MaineStreet, BrightSpace, Google Suite, Kaltura, and Zoom. They can also help with problems with university-issued computers, network/internet, and password issues:

(207) 780-4029 or usm-helpdesk@maine.edu.

The Center for Technology Enhanced Learning (CTEL) provides both Self-paced training for BrightSpace as well as a companion guidance document. BrightSpace also has its own official documentation for instructors.

One may also contact CTEL directly: (207) 780-5072 or ctelhelp@maine.edu

One may contact CTEL for assistance teaching with BrightSpace, developing online teaching skills, or finding innovative ways to assess student performance:

(207) 780-5072 or ctelhelp@maine.edu