Subject Guides: *Mathematics & Statistics: Find Articles

How to Use Find Journals By Title

Finding Journals by Title can be used to find electronic and print versions of specific journal titles. It can also be used to search by "keyword." Using the pull down menu type your subject keyword until the menu choice "Title contains all words" This will show all journals that contain that keyword in their title! Another great way to search.

What are Databases?

"Database" is a quick way to describe any online application where you enter a search. There are databases for books (URSUS, MaineCat, World Cat) and databases for Journal articles. I've picked out some to the right ---> There are many other databases as well. Google is a search engine but it is also a database of websites.It is important to know what you are looking for Books? Articles? Websites? etc. before you start looking! Ask me I can help!!

Databases For Mathematics & Statistics

The following Databases are useful for finding articles in Mathematics, Statistics and Operations Research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.

Directory of Open Access Journals
These journals are free to the public. This database contains journals in mathematics, statistics and operations research.
more...less...
Provides full-text articles from over 1145 free peer-reviewed journals covering all scholarly and scientific subjects. Over 310 journals can be searched by article title. Most articles are in English. Records for articles in foreign languages have English abstracts

IngentaConnect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the tables of contents of 17,000 English language periodicals. Covers all disciplines. Updated daily. NOTE: Full text access available ONLY with subscriptions to individual titles. Check your library for holdings.

JSTOR
This database contains articles in a wide range of subjects including mathematics and statistics.
more...less...
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content. Collections Included: Arts & Sciences I,II, III,IV,V,VI,VII, VIII, Math & Statistics, and Music
MathSciNet
MathSciNet is the American Mathematical Society database.
more...less...
Extensive database of citations to journal articles and reviews of articles in pure and applied mathematics. Coverage from 1940-present. Updated daily.
Coverage: 1940-present

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a full-text collection of journals on science, technology, and medicine published by Elsevier. The University of Maine System Libraries have access to Complete and the Freedom Collection, which together comprise more than 1,800 journals, most with backfiles from 1995 to present. There are some ScienceDirect journal titles to which University users do not have access. Elsevier provides lists of titles included and excluded from the Freedom Collection at https://www.elsevier.com/solutions/sciencedirect/content/journal-title-lists

SpringerLink
SpringerLink contains books as well as articles in a wide range of subjects including mathematics and statistics.
more...less...
SpringerLink provides access to full-text STM (scientific, technical, medical) journals, book series, books, and reference works published by Springer and its imprints.
Access to resources within SpringerLink varies by campus.
Springer e-books: 2005+
Springer e-journals: 1997+

Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connect students and library patrons to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from more than 18,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and reference sources, with more than 8,800 in full text. Academic OneFile also offers engaging multimedia, with over 59,000 images and 3,500+ audio files. Also included is a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; and links to over 1.2 million video files, from shows like Frontline and NOVA. With extensive coverage in key subject areas including the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects, students and patrons are able to find, share, or use accurate, current information with ease
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

More Databases By Subject

The library website allows you to sort databases by subject. Below are the direct links the to databases associated with Mathematics and Statistical Information.

Tip:

Still having trouble finding the right database? Try OneSearch. Type in your basic search terms. Click search. Under content type select "Journal Article". Recommended databases will be displayed at the top of the page.

Example: Search "discrete event simulation". Select Journal Article. The databases suggested here are MathSciNet and Environment Complete.

Remember too, you can always ask a librarian!