Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need Help with Article Linker?
Looking for the full-text of an article, but only seeing Article Linker? View this video for tips on how to use it to find your article!
Online Indexes and Databases
Different databases have different subject strengths, and using just one or two is a good strategy if you have a fairly broad topic. If you want perspectives from a variety of disciplines or you are having difficulty finding anything in a single database, try Onesearch.
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for over 500 journals serving the "caring professions": health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Coverage dates vary; most titles from 1990s to present. Updated monthly.
CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text provides full text for over 500 nursing and allied health journals, and indexing/abstracting for an additional 2500. Coverage: From 1981 for most titles. Updated
ERIC - Education (EBSCO)
Provides international coverage of citation and full-text access to journals, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers, dissertations, and more in the field of education. Department of Education. Includes robust thesaurus. Coverage from 1966.
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, the PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) database indexes the literature of PTSD and other mental health conditions resulting from traumatic events.
Primary index to material in psychology, psychiatry and related fields.
Social Services Abstracts
Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, human development and related areas. More international coverage than Social Work Abstracts.
Social Work Abstracts
Primary index for locating articles in the field of social work.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a large scholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 scholarly, popular, trade, and special interest serials, and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Updated daily.
Academic OneFile with InfoTrac Collections
Connect students and library patrons to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from more than 18,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and reference sources, with more than 8,800 in full text. Academic OneFile also offers engaging multimedia, with over 59,000 images and 3,500+ audio files. Also included is a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; and links to over 1.2 million video files, from shows like Frontline and NOVA. With extensive coverage in key subject areas including the physical and social sciences, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects, students and patrons are able to find, share, or use accurate, current information with ease
IMPORTANT NOTE: With rare exceptions, you won't find articles about specific local agencies or programs in scholarly journals. To look up information about your agency/organization other than that available at their website, try Maine News, which provides indexing and full text of several Maine newpapers.