Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for a shortcut?
Many of our databases provide you with help formatting your citations according to APA, MLA, or other citation styles.
In the EBSCO databases (Academic Search Complete, Social Work Abstracts, PsycInfo), when you print, email, or save your citations, you can change the setting from the default "standard field format" to "citation format", and then choose the style you want.
ProQuest citation shortcut
In the ProQuest databases (Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, ASSIA), select the items you want citations for by clicking in the box to the left of each citation, then click the "cite" link, choose the citation format you prefer, and follow the directions to copy, email, or download.
Style Guides in the USM Libraries
Accurate, properly formatted footnotes and bibliographies are indicators of good academic research, and the ethical/legal use of information. The sources listed here provide assistance in following correct citation methods and in avoiding plagiarism.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: USM POR Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020 ; USM GOR Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
A Writer's Reference with Exercises by
Call Number: USM POR Reference PE1408 .H2778 2021; USM GOR Reference PE1408 .H2778 2021
Publication Date: 2020
C | Composing and Revising C1 Planning C2 Drafting C3 Writing paragraphs C4 Reviewing, revising, and editing C5 Preparing a portfolio; reflecting on your writing A | Academic Reading, Writing, and Speaking A1 Reading and writing critically A2 Reading and writing about multimodal texts A3 Reading arguments A4 Writing arguments A5 Speaking confidently A6 Writing in the disciplines R | Researched writing R1 Thinking like a researcher; gathering sources R2 Managing information; taking notes responsibly R3 Evaluating sources MLA | MLA Style MLA-1 Supporting a thesis MLA-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism MLA-3 Integrating sources MLA-4 Documenting sources MLA-5 Format and sample research essay APA CMS | APA Style and CMS Style APA-1 Supporting a thesis APA-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism APA-3 Integrating sources APA-4 Documenting sources APA-5 Format and sample research essay CMS-1 Supporting a thesis CMS-2 Citing sources; avoiding plagiarism CMS-3 Integrating sources CMS-4 Documenting sources CMS-5 Format and sample research essay S | Sentence Style S1 Parallelism S2 Needed words S3 Problems with modifiers S4 Shifts S5 Mixed constructions S6 Sentence emphasis S7 Sentence variety W | Word choice W1 Glossary of usage W2 Wordy sentences W3 Active verbs W4 Appropriate language W5 Exact language G | Grammatical sentences G1 Subject-verb agreement G2 Verb form, tenses, and moods G3 Pronouns G4 Adjectives and adverbs G5 Sentence fragments G6 Run-on sentences M | Multilingual Writers and ESL topics M1 Verbs M2 Articles M3 Sentence structure M4 Using adjectives M5 Prepositions and idiomatic expressions M6 Paraphrasing sources effectively P | Punctuation and Mechanics P1 The comma P2 Unnecessary commas P3 The semicolon and the colon P4 The apostrophe P5 Quotation marks P6 Other punctuation marks P7 Spelling and hyphenation P8 Capitalization P9 Abbreviations and numbers P10 Italics B | Basic Grammar B1 Parts of speech B2 Sentence patterns B3 Subordinate word groups B4 Sentence types I | Index