Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Services for Alumni
Like URSUS and Mainecat, Onesearch can be searched by anyone regardless affilation; but will ask for a CURRENT log in once you try to access paid full text. It does offer an Open Access limit on the advanced search screen, or to the left of your results after running an initial search.
Free, Open Access, or Publicly Funded Databases
Google Scholar (click “scholar preferences” to set up links to up to five libraries; I also recommend using the Advanced Scholar Search)
The Campbell Collaboration publishes high-quality systematic reviews in an open access journal. Campbell has a growing list of editorial topic areas, including Methods, Social Welfare, Disability, Education, International Development, Crime and Justice, and others.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Database
Particular strength in topics relating to children, school contexts, etc.
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
A federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. (Primarily government-funded studies, not journal articles.)
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), PubMed is a major medical database. Included are links to many sites with full-text article.
ASWB Exam Resources
ASWB Exam Resources
Link to a guide listing study guides, practice tests, etc. available to you through USM Libraries or Maine Digital Library.